Baked potatoes filled with spicy chettinad paneer in creamy cheese sauce

IMG_20150418_215320265 IMG_20150418_215106129

So here goes my very first post for Fiesta Friday. I’am so glad I got to know about it. Right now I’am actually really really busy with my entrances and college admissions but as soon as I got to know about the Fiesta Friday I wanted to take some time out to make something new.

As you see since this is my very post I wanted to sort of make a good impression like many say “first impression is the best impression”. So in went my efforts to produce a good fusion recipe. As the name of this recipe suggests this one is a fusion of Indian and Italian food. For a long time I have wanted to try out a great fusion recipe and I guess Fiesta Friday has finally given me the lovely opportunity to do it. Many may wonder why I chose Indo-Italian..well the answer is quite simple…as we know the basic foundation for Indian cooking is its spices and for Italian its it’s herbs. So I sort of felt there is a connection somewhere and this would work out and I hence convinced myself.

After deciding so much the greatest catastrophe ever struck me- “Now what was I going to make”. Then in flew the idea of chettinad food like an angel. Okay for all those who don’t know what chettinad style is- Chettinad is actually a region of the Sivaganga district of southern Tamil Nadu state, India. The flavours of Chettinad are marvelous and their biryani will steal the hour any day. I would also like to add that paneer/cottage-cheese is more famous in North India and not that much in the south. So here too i wanted to create a fusion. Now coming to the Italian side of this recipe. If someone tells me lets have Italian today all I would be able to picture is Cheesy white sauce flavoured with oregano or dried basil. So this part was sort of easy. Moving to the potato base. After all the chettinad, the sauce and everything I still felt the recipe was incomplete. So in a fit of rage I opened the refrigerator only to lay eyes on the potatoes. Finally I felt relaxed and sat down to figure out the recipe. So that was how I came up with this fusion recipe.

Ingredients and methods:

1. For the chettinad paneer: Now the three pillars for chettinad cuisine is -black peppercorns, cumin seeds, and coriander seeds. The flavouring agents are- dry red chillies and curry leaves

.DSC04848 DSC04853

  • 1 cup of grated paneer
  • 1 tbsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tbsp coriander seeds
  • 1 tbsp black peppercorns
  • 1/2 dry chilli
  • curry leaves- 7
  • salt to taste
  • 3 tbsp of curd
  • 4 tbsp cornflour
  • oil

Method:

  • Dry roast the black peppercorns, cumin seeds, and coriander seeds for exactly 5 minutes on simmer . Not more not less. keep aside.
  • Add a tsp of oil to a pan and after a minute add the dry chilli and curry leaves. Roast until curry leaves are in a state to to be ground.
  • Now grind the above two mixtures together until they are fine.
  • Add it to the rest of the ingredients except for the oil and refrigerate for 2 hrs.
  • In a pan add 4 tbsp of oil and stir fry the marinated paneer for 10 mins.

DSC04862 DSC04867

2. For the cheese sauce:

  • 1 tbsp self raising flour or maida
  • 1tbsp butter
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup grated mozzarella cheese
  • Salt to taste
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • Parseley- 1/2 tsp
  • Oregano- 1 tsp

Method:

  •  In a pan add the butter and once it melts add the flour and stir for about a minute.
  •  Now add the milk and dissolve the chunks that may form.
  •  Add the cheese and stir until it melts. It becomes sticky and dry. At this stage add more milk little by little until a thick consistency is reached. Switch off the stove.
  •  Add salt, pepper and hherbs and keep aside.

DSC04876

4. For the Potatoe base:

2  potatoes- Slit the potatoes into half and scoop out its insides as seen in the pic.

DSC04875

Now fill the cooked paneer into the hole of the potatoe and then pour the cheese sauce over it.

DSC04879

Bake the 4 halves of the potatoes in a preheated oven for 15 minutes.

IMG_20150418_215059930

Hope you all try this and enjoy it. It was really amazing especially the way the flavours of Chettinad and Italy went along.

I’am also really excited about Ginger and Loretta hosting the Fiesta Friday this week. I’ve loved and follwed their recipes over the few weeks I’ve been blogging. I’m also trying to improve my food photography big time so hope you all adjust with these pics in the mean time.

If you all liked the idea of this recipe please try it beacuse it tastes lovely and ofcourse don’t forget to like, comment and follow my blog for daily updates.

24 thoughts on “Baked potatoes filled with spicy chettinad paneer in creamy cheese sauce

  1. Welcome to Fiesta Friday and thanks for your very first post. I hope you’ll stay around and meet everyone else. It’s been quite a wonderful experience for me, the folks that attend come from far and wide. Your fusion dish sounds exotic, I love all the flavors going on in those baked potatoes. Thanks again, and no worries about the photos, I think it has been quite a learning experience for me too. Thanks again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Lina! Welcome to Fiesta Friday! This is just a very cool place to hang out on Fridays and I’m so happy to see that you joined us! Thanks so much for the follow, by the way! I truly appreciate it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your dish is just lovely and I love the idea of the fusion! One of the very best things about blogging is that we get to explore how other cooks are mixing and mingling ingredients from all around the world! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey Lina, that was a brilliant dish my child, especially for a start up fusion.Having known you personally over the years I am quite confident and can proudly say that the best is yet to come.Good luck dear !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

