The 7 to 9 Chef/ Chapter 4

Paruppa Vadais and the Story of my Awesomely Ridiculous Date

Monday again…and as usual my sister is screaming, but the good news is I am not running late for work. Sometimes…acutually everytime when our older siblings take the role of a parent in our life, I am sure its highly pissing off for anyone and the same is happening to me right now. I sometimes wish I had a life right out of a movie. A little bit masala, a little bit tadka just like the ingredients to my vadas can be spared to me.

“Is it necessary for you to make the vada batter Cass?” Why can’t she ever try to be a little bit easy on herself and on others..

“I am trying to do something in my life for once Vicky. Please don’t spoil it for me. I woke up at 4 to soak the channa dal, got up at six and made everything and I am ready by 7 right. I timed everything. Chill out. Just remember to deep fry the vadas when your back and heat the rasam I’ve made for dinner.”

Vicky looks amazed. “Since when did you become so active? Anyways Cass are you sure about meeting that Neil guy or should I speak to mama?” Vicky sounded very concerned. “You know mama right. She won’t listen to anyone. Let me just go and prove it to her that it was a waste. Probably he will be a good person. Who knows?”

“As you say. The anarkali looks gorgeous on you though, but just keep a bindi and darken you lip colour,” says Vicky. We get into the car and I ponder on the horrible possibilities of how my date can turn out to be as the car moves.

“Hey Cass hold the lift. HOLD IT!!” Ray screams from the main door as I enter the lift. He comes running.

“Thank you Cass.” He looks at me a little surprised and says,” Where are you going fully dressed up?”

“How does it matter to you anyways?”

“I just asked. By the way who is Evana to you. I didn’t want to ask yesterday,” he asks as we get out of the lift.

“That is really sweet of you to do something like that Cass,” he tells me once I tell him about Evana.

“Hmm..I don’t see it that way though. Its fun to be around her and that actually makes me a selfish person because I sponsor her for my happiness.” Ray gives me one of his sweetest smiles ever.

Seven hours later I am in the office washroom trying to apply some liner. I realize I am pathetic at it and I need Ananya’s help big time. She really is a saviour. As my sister said I keep a bindi and use Ananya’s darker lip shade. That girl surely does spend a fortune on her makeup. Not to be too narcissistic but I really looked nice. The red surely enhanced my dusky skin tone. Mama is never wrong..hmm..only when it comes to dressing.

I reach Boca Grande by six and I ask for table number eight. Neil had actually sounded pretty sweet on the phone by the way.

“Neil?” He smiles. “I am Cassandra but please call me Cassie.” I lend my hand for him to shake.

“Hello there. Really nice to meet you in person.” He had this horrible shrill voice and I try hard not to laugh. “You sounded so different on the phone that I didn’t expect you to look so pretty.”

WHAT…THE…..HELL!!!!…Did this donkey just insult my voice. God knows if he has ever heard himself speak. What sort of weirdo has my mom set me up with. I fake a smile though just to be polite and pray that this ends fast.

“Please do sit down.” I wish I could throw something at him. ” I am a cardiologist. Your mother surely must have told you. I did my post graduation in London.” He emphasizes so much on the ‘London’ like as though he was the first one from India to go abroad for post grad.

“Yes she surely did.” I fake smile again. Why is this happening to me. But I’ve to say he really does look good. More than six-feet tall, perfectly combed hair, ironed shirt and most important of all great shoes. You can always tell a gentleman by his shoes. I can bet he is no gentleman though.

“So tell me something about you,”he asks.

“I tell you Vicky, he just asked me that for a courtesy sake because right after my 30 second incomplete interrupted introduction he started blowing his trumpet which didn’t end for the next two hours.” I haven’t stopped cribbing from the time I got home and my sis and bro haven’t stopped trying to make me feel better. My ears were exhausted from hearing his nonsense achievements and my tongue dry from giving false praises.

“Seriously why would anyone care about his Cacti plant that didn’t die unlike his friend’s or about his well maintained refrigerator or his specially imported french soap or his allergy for Chocolate Cosmos which is actually a flower by the way and not some chocolate as I presumed it was. He looked down upon me for not knowing it. Why would I care if his 7 year old niece knew what it was. Apparently it is a very rare flower from Mexico and I can’t even remember the story of how he found he was allergic to it. And..and.”

“Cass its ok…please relax.” Vicky says cutting me short.

“Let her continue no. It was so funny,” laughs my idiotic brother. I throw the remote at him but he catches it.

“That loser has already killed me enough for the day Jerry, you don’t make it worse.” My mother calls at the wrong time. Thankfully my sister grabs the mobile from me on time and tells her I am having a wash.

“Cass you must be hungry. Come and try the yummy vadas,” says my sister as she returns my mobile. Finally my mood lightens up. Vicky sure does know how to divert me.

“Yeah Cass, they were a masterpiece,” Jerry says.

The vadas sure do taste amazing. I am really loving this! I click a pic and whatsapp it to Ray.

Generally in the traditional vadas dry red chillies are added. The variation of add green chillies and garlic instead surely adds a wonderful flavour. When we grind them together, a totally new avatar is attained by them.  Urad dal is also not added but I’ve added it because it will make the insides of the vada puffy and the exterior crispy. It surely has done the magic.

IMG-20150421-WA0001

Ingredients:

  1. 1 cup channa dal
  2. 1 tbsp urad dal
  3. 1 onion chopped
  4. 2 green chillies
  5. salt to taste
  6. 10 curry leaves chopped
  7. chopped coriander- a handful
  8. 4 garlic cloves

Method:

  •  Soak the channa dal and urad dal in 3 cups of water for 3 hours.
  • In a blender, add the chillies, garlic, salt. Pulse two times. Now completely drain the dal of any water and add it to the blender. Grind well until a perfect paste is obtained. Please note do not add any water to it while grinding.
  • Add the paste to bowl. Add the onions, curry leaves and coriander.
  • Heat oil in a kadai. Shape the vadas as seen in the pic and deep fry until golden brown. We can also store the batter to use later. It stays fresh for two whole days if we refrigerate.

My phones beeps as I gobble up the third vada.

Awesome Cass…..You are surely taking this seriously….XD XD. I am going for the 10:30 show to INOX at Lido. You peeps wanna join??

I ask my bro and sis and they are more than interested. Finally we rush to get ready.

Sure…Count us in…- I reply

…………..To be continued

Author’s Note: Hope everyone is enjoying the series. Please try these South Indian delicacies. Being a south Indian myself I love these vadas. They go along really well with tea, rice or anything for that matter. Please comment below if you all have any suggestions…

20 thoughts on “The 7 to 9 Chef/ Chapter 4

  1. Your vadas sound so good – I am slowly becoming familiar with all these ingredients and starting to experiment with different recipes. I will add this to my collection of “must try” Indian recipes. Thanks for coming to the Fiesta Friday party and have a great week šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha…your the second person who thought I was Cassie….Cassie is my fictional character for my 7 to 9 series which is part of the fiction in the kitchen idea…my name is Lina BTW..XD..I’m 18 and not 26 like my character…thank you sooo much fr stopping by…

      Like

Leave a Reply

