Upside down shepherd’s pie recipe

Author’s Note: Hey! this just a small piece I had to write as an assignment..since I can’t post another 7 to 9 chef chapter until 13th of this month, hope this will make the wait better☺☺ I’ll be taking this to Fiesta Friday

The story of why my dining table is always new..

(The play opens in a beautiful dim lit dining room. There is a crystal chandelier right above the centre of a long rectangular, 12 seater dining table. Hand painted China ware on the table enhance the richness of the room.)

Narrator: How old do you think this table is? A year? But you’ll are so wrong. It is as old as me..10 whole years. But I have hardly had meals with my family on it except during get togethers, papa’s official client dinners and other such so called important events. I generally have meals on the kitchen counter with Maya, my cook.(just then a man servant enters the room and starts dusting the table)..Hehe..I swear I don’t know why it needs so much cleaning when no one uses it..

(the narrator exits the screen. It opens again in a study room, which hardly looks organised except for the desk with the computer and a few important looking papers. A man with greying hair around his early fifties is sitting at the desk in a expensive blazer, talking over the phone, simultaneously signing some documents. The narrator enters the scene.)

Narrator: Papa?
Father: Yes Vinny..make it fast.(he tells this by closing the mic of the receiver)
Narrator: I am not Vinny papa. I am Tess.
Father: Oh right..sorry sweetheart..age is surely telling on your poor Papa.
Narrator(addressing the viewers with a disgusted face): Not like he would have remembered otherwise!
Narrator: So can we have that family dinner you promised me, today?
Father: (keeping the receiver down) You said something honey?
Narrator(after a moment’s pause of shock) No nothing..have a lovely night.
(The narrator exits the room)

(This scene opens in a bedroom. It is so pink that you can hardly tell the difference between the study, bed and curtains and also to the extent of the floor. A pretty girl around 16 with extra large fake eye lashes and quite a bit of makeup is checking herself out on the mirror. There is a knocking sound and she gets up with a frown to open the door.)

Narrator: Can I come in Vinny?
Vinny: of course not! (She tries to shut the door, but the narrator barges in and runs to sit on the bed. Immediately Vinny gives a terrible shriek with her hands on her cheeks.) no not my bed! (She sits on the chair at the table. Vinny repeats her reaction.) omg never! ( finally she sits on the floor. This time there is a louder shriek) NOOOOOOO! Not my Roselle extra polished, ultra smooth flooring.
Narrator: I’ll just stand I guess. (With a shrug.)
Vinny: even better, LEAVE!!!
Narrator: before that, would you like to join me for dinner?
Vinny(with a horrible shriek): Oh no! What sort of a specimen are you? Are you an alien? NFOL please forgive me for this moron. Get out I say.
Narrator: what’s NFOL?(there is the same shriek again)
Vinny: it’s the No Food Only Liquid pact. You can’t stay here after you have insulted me so much. Get out!

narrator:(after leaving the room) 2 down, 2 more to go.

(The scene opens at yet another bedroom. It looks very black and brown. The wall is hardly visible because of the posters of numerous bands. Two guitars are nailed to the wall. Ear blasting metal music fills the room. A twenty year old girl in a black skull printed t-shirt is dancing to it. The narrator enters slowly.)

Narrator: hey JJ..what’s up?(she looks a bit frightened.)
JJ:(looks at her, immediately her face fills with disgust. She turns off the music and takes the cd out.) Vacate..and don’t you ever call me that ever again.
Narrator: Can we eat together today?
JJ(with her hands folded and stern look): I’ve plans with my boyfriend.
Narrator: Isn’t he in Sydney?
JJ: Well, we will chat and eat on Skye. I don’t have to be telling you any of this.(she is thrown out).

Narrator(addressing the viewers): uff…at least she didn’t twist my hand this time! I had got it sprained.

(This scene opens at her mother’s bedroom. You can find nothing other than rosewood furniture in there. Her mother is resting on an armchair with a green mask on her face listening to Beethoven. Narrator enters. The door creaks)

Mother: Sweety not today. Mommy is tired. Maya will serve your dinner.
Narrator(addressing the viewers.): I seriously don’t know what mama does, that makes her so tired!!
Narrator: okay no problem.

(Back in the dining room)

Narrator: 5…4…3…2…1.. Taaaa…daaaa!!!(says this with her hands open wide)

(The rest of the family assembles at the dining hall with their anger mode on and sing in chorus.)

Father: where is the file Tess!
Vinny: my eyelash curlers!!(she shrieks)
JJ: My cd moron?
Mother: Sweety get me the remover for my mask..I can’t wear it for a minute more also..

Narrator: Can we have dinner together since we are all here now?(she giggles)
(With a kiddish spark in her eyes)(The curtains close)

INGREDIENTS:
1. MASHED POTATOES WITH SALT AND PEPPER TO TASTE_ 1 1/2 CUP
2. MINCED CHICKEN BOILED WITH SALT and TUMERIC
3. PEPPER TO TASTE
4. 1 CUP CHOPPED ONIONS
5. 3/4TH CUP GRATED CHEESE + 2 TBSP
6. OREGANO 2TSP
7. 1 EGG BEATEN
8. 1 TBSP OIL
9.  PAPRIKA- 1 TSP
10. Breadcrumbs- 3/4th cup

Method:
1. IN A PAN ADD OIL, ROAST ONIONS, AFTER IT BECOMES TRANSLUCENT, ADD CHICKEN, OREGANO, PEPPER, PAPRIKA AND CHEESE. AFTER IT MELTS TURN OFF THE STOVE.
2. IN A GREASED BAKING TRAY, LAYER THE POTATO, THEN THE CHICKEN, THEN SPREAD OUT THE EGG AND ADD THE BREADCRUMBS.
3. BAKE FOR 20 MINUTES IN A MODERATE TEMP IN A PREHEATED OVEN..

image

18 thoughts on “Upside down shepherd’s pie recipe

  1. First off, your dish looks delicious. I like how you used paprika in it as well. And, secondly, your writing is beautiful. I enjoy your descriptions, such as the “kiddish spark in her eyes.” Thank you so much for sharing your work at Fiesta Friday. We’ll be looking forward to the next chapter too! Happy FF, and I hope you have a wonderful weekend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this play Lina, it was so cute and funny! The beginning made me quite sad because it was such a disparate family, but the ending was so funny and optimistic 🙂 I love how the narrator could predict when everyone else came in, and how the narrator addresses the audience in certain parts. The dinner table is the perfect metaphor for a family and their relationships; I’m glad in this case that they manage to be brought together again 😉 And yum, the pie looks delicious!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg so sweet of u…loved ur analysis of this tiny play from my side☺☺…you have captured the exact essence I had wanted to deliver….u ve made my day!!!!!!! And yes the pie was yumm too☺☺ thanks once again

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

