Rasam Recipe/100 word story

I finally did it! Though I love cooking I never really have tried stuff like sambhar, rasam, kuttu, etc,ie, Tamil veg food. So today I told my mom to teach me how to make rasam cause I think she makes the best rasam in the world!!! Her rasam is actually pretty famous too…And guess what!! The weather is still too cold in Bangalore! So this is like the best time to make rasam. We can have it with rice or just drink it….

My dear friend challenged me to write a 100 word story. I think I am going to nominate FIVE other bloggers too to write one cause it was fun! Hope you’ll try it 🙂 + or – 10 words isn’t a problem:)

My head hurt badly, as I try to open my eyes, as if someone had clubbed me down, I give up. Events from last night keep flashing back…but yet I don’t exactly remember what happened after I dropped Simmi home after the dinner. I lift my hands to brush off the hair strands sticking to my sweaty brow. With shock, I open my eyes to see that I have been tied to an old wooden chair..I start screaming for help. 

I finally hear footsteps! A few mintues later Simmi appears before me…

“Silvi? What are you doing in my attic?”

“I am tied!”

She looks confused..”YOU AREN’T!!”

My heart stops……

INGREDIENTS:

TO BE COARSELY GROUND

  • 1 GREEN CHILLI
  • 1 TBSP PEPPERCORNS
  • 1 TBSP JEERA
  • 6-7 GARLIC CLOVES WITH SKIN
  • HANDFUL OF CORIANDER LEAVES(SAVE THE STEM FOR LATER!)
  • 2 SMALL TOMATOES
  • 5 CURRY LEAVES
  • 1 PINCH TUMERIC

SEASONING

  • Soak tamarind in the size of a lime in 1 ans 1/2 cup of water
  • gingelly oil- 1 tbsp
  • mustard seeds- 1tsp
  • fenugreek seeds- 1/2 tsp
  • asafoetida- 1 pinch
  • curry leaves- 10
  • 1 dry red chilli

METHOD:

IN A KADAI, ADD OIL, MUSTARD SEEDS, FENUGREEK AND ASAFOETIDA. BREAK THE RED CHILLI IN HALF AND ADD IT. ADD THE CURRYLEAVES WHEN THE MUSTARD CRACKLES. THEN ADD THE GROUND MIXTURE AND STIR WELL. KEEP ON SIMMER FOR 3 MINUTES. ADD THE TAMARIND WATER EXTRACT AND ANOTHER 1 AND A 1/2 CUP OF WATER. ADJUST SALT. WHEN YOU SEE LITTLE FROTH ON THE SURFACE. IMMEDIATELY TURN OFF AND TRANSFER TO A BOWL. MAKE SURE IT DOESNT BOIL TOO MUCH AT ALL! ADD THE CORIANDER STEMS BY CUTTING IT WITH A SCISSOR. THESE TINY STEMS ARE THE SECRET TO OBTAIN A PERFECT RASAM:)

So I nominate:

  1. chickwithmessybun.wordpress.com
  2. irresistiblethoughts.wordpress.com
  3. lifeofanelpasowoman.com
  4. smilingnotes.wordpress.com
  5. booksandbakes1.wordpress.com

I hope all of you take part in this! It was really fun and a matter of just a few minutes!!!! All the best!! If you’ll want, do keep the chain alive!!!! Just send me a link when you all are done:) Taking it to Fiesta Friday btw!

 

 

37 thoughts on “Rasam Recipe/100 word story

  1. Lovely recipe !! And I love the 100 word story..I wish you could go on and finish the story Hahha 😂 I will have to think really hard and come up with a story lol. Thank you so much for nominating me..now you’ve got me thinking 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, Lina, your story has a very interesting and open ending! So many possibilities as to how this could be continued… Well done. I’ve never had rasam, either, so I found your recipe great. If it’s as hot as you say, it would be ideal for winter weather. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your story challenge Lina 🙂 and I was looking for the ending! Oh well… I guess I’ll have to assume that you had too much chilli in your rasam! 😛 Thanks for sharing – something I’ve never made but will be thinking of now! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

