Story of a Woman

When I was 5, I loved playing with my kitchen set and Barbies. They told me, “Stop being so girly!”

When I was 10, I was captain of the hockey team. They told me, “Stop being a tomboy!”

When I was 14, I aced my math test. They told me, “Of course you did well, the nerd you are!”

When I was 16, I loved myself for who I was. They told me, “You are such a plain Jane.”

When I was 18, I started wearing makeup to look older. They told me, “Stop being a wannabe!”

When I was 24, I told my boyfriend that I wanted to split the bill. They told me, “You are a feminist.”

When I was 26, my husband gifted me a car. They told me, “You are an expensive wife.”

When I was 28, I became the Vice President at work and a mother. They said, “She is a workaholic mom!”

When I was 32, I quit my job to spend some time with my kids. They asked me, “Why do you want to be a housewife?”

Now that I am 35 and have my own start-up, I tell my girls, “The world will call you all they want, but always remember you are and will always be a woman and nothing else. So don’t change yourself for anyone…”

Author’s note: If you could relate comment down below! I randomly got this idea while I was studying for my exams..So decided to type it out before I forget it. I am writing something after a really long time! 

16 thoughts on “Story of a Woman

  1. Hi LIna– I do agree we can be labeled by people around us! And I know I’m alwasy trying to please other people. But at 65, I guess I know it’s best to be myself– just lvoe God and love the people around me and be myself. Intriguing post!! xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

